Skip to main content


David Wiese selected in official Pakistan Super League team of the tournament

Sussex Sharks all-rounder David Wiese has been picked in the official Pakistan Super League team of the tournament.

David played a key role with both bat and ball in helping Lahore Qalandars to the tournament final, which they lost to Karachi Kings on Tuesday.

In eleven matches, David took 12 wickets at an economy rate of 8.40 runs per over, making him the fifth highest run-scorer in the 2020 tournament.

His 131 runs from eight innings saw him top the Qalandars averages with 43.66 runs per completed innings. Only two players with over 100 runs finished the tournament with a higher strike-rate than the South African’s 170.12.

The team of the tournament was picked by an independent jury made up of Bazid Khan, Ramiz Raja and Urooj Mumtaz, and Nadeem Khan, who is a member of the HBL PSL 2020 Technical Committee and PCB Director – High Performance.

According to a Pakistan Cricket Board press-release, the team of the tournament was picked as “a 12-member side, as per the event regulations,” and includes “four foreign players and one emerging category player, and represents five teams with Lahore Qalandars boasting six players, three Karachi Kings, and one each from Islamabad United, Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators.

The release went on to explain the criteria considered for the team: “the independent jury considered a number of cricketing aspects, including consistency, impact on the side and results, fitness and best possible team combination so this team can take on any HBL PSL 2020 side on any given day at any of the four tournament venues.

Pakistan Super League 2020 Team of the Tournament (in batting order):

Babar Azam (Karachi Kings)

Chris Lynn (Lahore Qalandars)

Alex Hales (Karachi Kings)

Haider Ali (Peshawar Zalmi)

Mohammad Hafeez (Lahore Qalandars)

Shadab Khan (captain, Islamabad United)

Ben Dunk (wicketkeeper, Lahore Qalandars)

David Wiese (Lahore Qalandars)

Mohammad Amir (Karachi Kings)

Shaheen Shah Afridi (Lahore Qalandars)

Mohammad Hasnain (Quetta Gladiators)

Fakhar Zaman (12th, Lahore Qalandars)

It was announced last week that David Wiese will be returning to The 1st Central County Ground as an overseas player for next summer’s Vitality Blast.