Skip to main content


NEXT MATCH: Gloucestershire vs Sussex Sharks
ECB confirms up to 24 women's domestic cricketers will receive a Regional Retainer

The England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has today confirmed that up to 24 women's domestic cricketers will receive a Regional Retainer starting on June 1.

The eight Regions (outlined below) will recruit the players, who will adhere to strength and conditioning programmes and undertake certain online modules including anti-corruption and anti-doping education. They will also give some of their time for “good of the game” activities and appearances.

Managing Director of Women's Cricket, Clare Connor, said: "The momentum behind the women’s game has been staggering in the last few years and it is still firmly our ambition to build on that.

"As we emerge from this pandemic, we believe even more strongly that cricket will be a sport that throws its arms around everyone – truly inclusive, diverse and a sport for modern Britain to be proud of.

"This was due to be the most exciting year in the game’s history for our leading domestic players. A number of them would have been hoping to sign a full-time contract with one of our eight Regions this summer. While we still intend to award those full-time contracts in 2020, we want to try to support our players as much as we can until that point, hence the introduction of these Retainers to provide an interim solution.

"As the effects of COVID-19 on the rest of the summer and beyond become more apparent, we will continue to support our players to the best of our ability, and we promise them that our drive for a more gender-balanced sport remains vitally important.”

Region Regional Host, Partner Counties & Regional Director of Women's Cricket: 

  • North East, Yorkshire CCC, Durham CCC, Northumberland, James Carr
  • North West, Lancashire CCC, Cheshire, Cumbria, David Thorley
  • West Midlands, West Midlands Women’s Cricket Ltd (NewCo – Warwickshire CCC & Worcestershire CCC), Herefordshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Laura MacLeod
  • East Midlands, Loughborough University, Derbyshire CCC, Leicestershire CCC, Nottinghamshire CCC, Lincolnshire, Ian Read
  • South West and Wales, Western Storm Ltd (NewCo – Glamorgan CCC, Gloucestershire CCC and Somerset CCC), Cricket Wales, Cornwall, Devon, Wiltshire, Lisa Pagett
  • South Central, Southern Vipers Ltd (Hampshire Cricket Ltd), Sussex CCC, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Dorset, Isle of Wight, Oxfordshire, Adam Carty
  • London and South East, Surrey CCC, Kent CCC, Richard Bedbrook
  • London and East, Middlesex CCC,   Essex CCC, Northamptonshire CCC Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Hertfordshire, Huntingdonshire, Norfolk, Suffolk, Danni Warren