Skip to main content
NEXT MATCH: Sussex CCC vs Durham
Danni Wyatt included in England squad for India tour

Sussex’s Danni Wyatt has been included in the England Women squad for their forthcoming tour of India.

Sarah Taylor is being rested for the trip and so is not included in the sixteen-strong group.

England Women and former Sussex Head Coach, Mark Robinson is looking forward to testing new players and adding new options to his squad ahead of a year that sees England play host to New Zealand and South Africa and take part in the ICC World T20: “We’ve said for a long time that we need to play more games and it’s exciting that we’ve been able to arrange this very competitive series outside of the ICC Women’s Championship. 

“It gives us a chance to see other players and measure their progress and that also means we can rest and rotate. In Sarah’s case, she’s been doing really well and we always targeted this period as one where she can focus on her wellbeing in preparation for what will be a busy summer leading into the ICC World T20.

“It’s hugely exciting to have three new faces in the group – and to welcome back a few others - obviously that means a few have missed out but they can use the time to their advantage and come back more strongly.”

The tour to India includes a T20 international tri-series against India and Australia based in Mumbai and three one-day internationals against the hosts in Nagpur.

England start with a T20I against Australia on Friday 23rd March, followed by further matches against India on Sunday 25th March, Australia on Wednesday 28th March and India on Friday 29th March. The tri-series final takes place on Sunday 31st March.

The first ODI against India takes place on Friday 6th April, with the second and third following on Monday 9th April and Thursday 12th April.

You can catch Sussex's England internationals Georgia Elwiss, Sarah Taylor and Danni Wyatt, as well as the rest of the team in action right here in Sussex this summer. The 1st Central County Ground is hosting England’s Royal London One-Day International against South Africa on Tuesday 12th June. Tickets are available here.

England Women squad for tour to India:

Heather Knight (captain, Berkshire)

Tammy Beaumont (Kent)

Kate Cross (Lancashire)

Alice Davidson-Richards (Kent)

Sophie Ecclestone (Lancashire)

Tash Farrant (Kent)

Katie George (Hampshire)

Jenny Gunn (Warwickshire)

Alex Hartley (Lancashire)

Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire)

Amy Jones (wicketkeeper, Warwickshire)

Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)

Bryony Smith (Surrey)

Nat Sciver (Surrey)

Fran Wilson (Middlesex)

Danni Wyatt (Sussex)